Objectives of the CBSE CURRICULUM RULE

The Curriculum aims to:

1. achieve cognitive, affective and psychomotor excellence
2. enhance self-awareness and explore innate potential
3. promote Life Skills goal setting, decision making and lifelong learning
4. inculcate values and foster cultural learning and international understanding in an interdependent society
5. acquire the ability to utilize technology and information for the betterment of humankind; 6. strengthen knowledge and attitude related to livelihood skills
7. develop the ability to appreciate art and showcase talents
8. promote physical fitness, health and well-being.

Curriculum Areas at Secondary Level

•The secondary school curriculum acknowledges the fact that subjects like language, mathematics, science and social studies help the cognitive development of the child and, therefore require a greater academic emphasis. Further, CBSE also envisions the all-round development of students in consonance with the holistic approach to education and therefore, emphasize integration of co-curricular domains with curricular activities in an equitable manner.
        In operational sense, the secondary curriculum is learner-centered with school being a place where students would be acquiring various skills; building self-concept, sense of enterprise, aesthetic sensibilities and sportsmanship. Therefore, for the purpose of fostering core competencies in learners, this curriculum encompasses seven major learning areas, from scholastic and co scholastic point of view.
•Scholastic Areas : (i) Two Languages (ii) Mathematics (iii) Science (iv) Social Science
•Co-scholastic Areas : (i) Health and Physical Education (ii) Art Education


The Assessment scheme will have an 80 marks component for Board examination (class X) and Annual examination (class IX) in all scholastic subjects along with a 20 marks component of Internal Assessment. Students have to secure 33 percent marks separately in each of these components.

Board Examination for (class X) and Annual examination (class IX) 80 marks

For Class X:
		The Board Examination of three hour duration for 80 marks in each subject will cover entire syllabus of Class-X. Marks and grades 
		on the basis of 9-point grading system Grades will be awarded in each scholastic subject. For awarding the grades, the Board will 
		put all the passed students in a rank order and will award the grades as follows:
			A-1			Top 1/8th of the passed candidates
			A-2			Next 1/8th of the passed candidates
			B-1			Next 1/8th of the passed candidates
			B-2			Next 1/8th of the passed candidates
			C-1			Next 1/8th of the passed candidates
			C-2			Next 1/8th of the passed candidates
			D-1		Next 1/8th of the passed candidates
			D-2		Next 1/8th of the passed candidates
			E			Failed candidates
		•For Class IX:
		The assessment scheme will be similar to class X Board examination. However, the grading in class IX will be as follows:
				91-100					A1
				81-90					A2
				71-80					B1
				61-70					B2
				51-60					C1
				41-50					C2
				33-40					D
				32 and below			E (Failed)

Internal Assessment (20 Marks)

Internal Assessment(IA), emphasizing assessment of learning through multiple approaches, comprises Periodic Tests (PT) with weightage of 10 marks, Notebook Submission of 5 marks and Subject Enrichment Activities of 5 Marks. IA helps teachers to set their curricular targets for students and adjust pedagogy as per the need of students. It apprises both teachers and students about the extent of learning at a point when timely intervention or remedial action can be made. It also provides a mechanism for individual learner to actively understand the level of their attainment. By analyzing and discussing their queries, the students develop strategies to improve learning and enhance their study habits and, therefore, accordingly formulate strategies with the help of parents and teachers.

(i) Periodic Test (PT) for 10 Marks:
Periodic Test is a Pen and Paper assessment which is to be conducted by the respective subject teacher. The format of periodic test must have questions items with a balance mix, such as, very short answer (VSA), short answer (SA) and long answer (LA) to effectively assess the knowledge, understanding, application, skills, analysis, evaluation and synthesis. Depending on the nature of subject, the subject teacher will have the liberty of incorporating any other types of questions too. The modalities of the PT are as follows:
a) Mode: The periodic test is to be taken in the form of pen-paper test.
b) Schedule: In the entire Academic Year, three Periodic Tests in each subject may be conducted as follows :

		Test 			Pre Mid-term (PT-I) 			Mid-Term (PT-II) 		Post Mid-Term (PT-III) 
		Month 			July-August					November 				December-January 

c) Syllabus: The portion of syllabus will be cumulatively covered in periodic test with reference to the announcement of date of tests by schools.
d) Average of Marks:
Once schools complete conduct of all the three periodic tests, they will convert the weightage of each of the three tests into ten marks each for identifying best two tests. The best two will be taken into consideration and the average of the two shall be taken as the final marks for PT.

(ii) Notebooks Submission (5 Marks):
Notebook Submission is an appraisal tool to ensure the regular and attentive participation of students in classroom transaction. Notebook submission addresses the critical aspect of regularity, punctuality, neatness and notebook upkeep.
Assessment of Notebook:
While assessing Notebook Submission, teachers should follow these parameters:
a. Regularity: To be regular in bringing the notebooks.
b. Completion of Assignment/work done: Timely and regular completion of work done/assignments in notebook is expected from students. Special attention/counseling /feedback to parents should be given to students who do not complete the assignment/work.
c. Neatness and Upkeep of Notebook: Quality of work in the notebook (legible, properly- indexed and dated, properly titled and labelled topics, creativity, neatness, cognitive/psycho-motor skills, e.g. drawing of graphs/ diagrams/analytical work done in the assignment given)

(iii) Subject Enrichment Activities (5 Marks)
These are subject specific activities aimed at enrichment of the understanding and skill development.

What does Co-Scholastic Assessment focus upon?

The desirable behaviour related to learner’s life skills, attitudes, interests, values, physical health And Art Education are described as skills to be acquired in co-scholastic domain.
Part 2(A): Art Education
Part 2(B): Physical Health And Education

Class XII - as per latest CBSE syllabus